Trying My Hand at Fate

I’ve been playing with a bunch of guys regularly now for about a year and a half.  We found each other through Adventurers League, the recently created Organized Play organization for 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons.

It worked out pretty well, even though we opted to drop out of AL eventually and move on to playing on our own.  I DM for them every week, and we have a blast, but even so I’ve learned that Dungeons and Dragons has its limitations…  This latest published adventure, Curse of Strahd, is what we’re working out way through right now, and we’re enjoying it even though it’s horribly unbalanced and ill-written as you get into the thick of things…  It requires a LOT of prep on the part of the DM, from both the campaign-level and the encounter-level as it is terribly unbalanced.  The plot is interesting, but it’s already feeling like it’s going on and on and on, so I’m going to be figuring out how to make it a bit more engaging soon before I lose my players.

dresden11But as an aside, I’m finally getting to play instead of DM–we’re going to explore the Dresden Files RPG using Fate rules…   And I am SO excited.  Not only am I a huge fan of Jim Butcher’s books, but I have been wanting to explore Fate as a system for a long long time.

I am really looking forward to a more narrative approach to gaming rather than a statistical one.

I don’t have to be the GM on this one.  I get to be a player.

I popped out and bought all the books on Amazon the other day, and gleefully sat down with them to try to wrap my head around their contents.  I dutifully bought my first sets of Fate Dice at my local gaming store since they didn’t have the rule books.

Wow.

Okay, I’ve never played anything other than D&D.  I’ve got D20 systems ingrained in my blood after all these years.  And to try to wrap my head around Fate rules is…  daunting.  It really is like trying to learn another language.  The game is pretty different, but in a good way.  My learning curve is gonna be slow, but I’ve got good friends in the same boat and we’re gonna figure it out together.

I’m wondering if maybe the DFRPG could have used a bit of editing…  The approach to communicating the rules seems to be a bit verbose which results in a lot of confusion on my part.  I’m really glad they have tons of examples peppered throughout, though.  That’s fantastically helpful.

And knowing that there were modifications to the rules made after the Fate Core rules were published is a bit of a challenge…  I get the impression that magic in DFRPG is incredibly complicated, and they tried to make it simpler as things went on…  DFRPG uses a version of the Fate rules that was a step or two before the latest revision of Fate Core in 2013 (I think?), so since the game manuals were published the gaming mechanism has been streamlined a bit.  I hope so.  I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around it.

But I can already tell I’m going to like it.  Who doesn’t love Jim Butcher’s Dresden-verse?!?  The GM has set up an Obsidian Portal website for our group, and we’re diving in with a passion.  I’m hoping it takes off!!  Wish me luck!!

 

Leave a Reply

